Dungeons of Dredmor

It’s been a while since I’ve done a gaming-related post, so I thought I’d mention that I’ve been playing Dungeon of Dredmor recently, with all the expansions, including the recent Conquest of the Wizardlands. DoD is a graphical indie roguelike with a sense of humor, often at the expense of other games, from Elder Scrolls to Dwarf Fortress. Much to my amusement, Rearden Metal has made an appearance in Wizardlands. Metal ingots have alchemical symbols engraved on their sides. The symbol for Rearden Metal is a dollar sign. It’s even green.

They also recently patched the core game to allow all players access to a pocket dimension, so that means I don’t have to keep returning to my giant stockpiles on earlier floors. I feel like a nomad. Weapons have also been changed so that daggers are separated from swords as a weapon class, and polearms from staffs. The new categories get their own matching skill trees.

A new game mechanic from Wizardlands is “encrusting” where you add bonus stats (sometimes mixed with penalties) onto equipment. One of them is “Razor Chain” which adds a little chainsaw-like razor to the edge of your weapon. So, here’s a question: What would happen if I added that to my Clockwork Chainsword?

One response to “Dungeons of Dredmor

  1. A friend and I watched the first half of Atlas Shrugged Part I and decided that “Rearden” was going to be our new superlative. So “Rearden X” is the best possible X. Atlas Shrugged Part I was most decidedly non-Rearden.

Leave a Reply

